EAP Levels

Program Details:

  • Classes meet in the fall, spring, and summer.
  • Fall and spring classes meet for 16 weeks.
  • Summer classes meet for 10 weeks.

The program offers six (6) levels, from beginning to advanced. After successfully enrolling at HCC, a student will take an English placement test. The test measures the student's reading skills, language use skills, and writing ability. Based on the student's test scores, the student is placed in one of the six levels.

  • Students in Levels 1-4 receive institutional credit.
  • Students in Levels 5-6 receive HCC elective credit, which can be used towards the Associate in Arts degree.
  • Completion of the EAP curriculum also meets HCC's foreign language requirement.
  • Students enrolled in Levels 5-6 can begin taking college math courses.
  • Once students complete Level 6, they may begin taking HCC college-level courses.

Required Classes:

Level Class Class Class Class
1 Speech/Listening Reading Writing Grammar
2 Speech/Listening Reading Writing Grammar
3 Speech/Listening Reading Writing Grammar
4 Speech/Listening Reading Writing Grammar
5 Reading Reading Lab Writing Writing Lab
6 Reading Reading Lab Writing Writing Lab
Section Header

Course Offerings by Campus


Each campus has specific times and offering for their EAP program. See which one best fits your needs.

EAP Home

Return to the home page for the EAP program.

EAP Frequently Asked Questions

Have questions? You're not alone! We have organized a list of commonly asked questions to help.

Foundations: Beginning in English

This course provides students a foundation in academic English, and it helps students prepare to enter EAP level 1.

Student Involvement

See the ways that you can connect with our diverse student clubs and organizations on campus.

Tampa Bay Skyline