HCC Home HCC Ybor Campus HCC SouthShore Campus HCC Plant City Campus HCC District Administrative Offices HCC Dale Mabry Campus HCC Brandon Campus

My Biography


I was born and raised in the "coalfields" area of southwestern West Virginia. My father, grandfathers, and great-grandfathers were all coal miners. Seeing photos of my grandpa working in the coal mine at age 12 made me really appreciate the priviledges modern Americans enjoy, particularly the ready access we have to quality education. Our educational system truly sets us apart from much of the world.

As I grew up I began to enjoy helping my friends study and learn, especially in mathematics. I have ALWAYS wanted to be a math teacher. I attended Marshall University in Huntington, West Virginia (GO HERD!) where I received my Bachelor of Science and Master of Arts degrees in mathematics. After leaving Marshall I taught at West Virginia State College and Morehead State University (in Kentucky) before returning to Marshall to pursue my doctoral degree. I received my Doctor of Education degree from Marshall in 2003.


In the past 10 years. I have taught for several two-year colleges including Montgomery College (Germantown, MD), Manatee Community College (Bradenton, FL) and now here at Hillsborough Community College. I love teaching at the two-year college level where quality of teaching and student-centered services are valued above all else.

My wife Kathleen and I were married in Jensen Beach, Florida in 2001 and we currently reside in our 1957 rancher in Bradenton, Florida with our two dogs Peter and Blue.  We are in the process of adopting twins from Haiti as well.  We are well into the adoption process and expect to have them home by the end of 2012. Here is a photo of them celebrating their first birthday in Haiti on July 2, 2012:

Baby Birthday

From a mathematics standpoint, my primary interests include developmental math strategies/pedagogy, Calculus III, and Differential Equations. I enjoy developing and teaching courses online when I get the chance. I have developed versions of College Algebra, Calculus II and Calculus III on WebCT and have taught online at several institutions ranging from HCC to the University of Maryland. I am currently working on a hybrid version of College Algebra which will include a WebCT online component and an in-class component. In addition to math I also enjoy some subjects on the other end of the spectrum including history and literature. My faith is also very important to me. I have often thought that if I ever pursue a second career, I would be very torn between being a history teacher and a Christian minister.

1958BuickMy other interests are quite varied. I like cars (1957-61 vintage), architecture, art, music and travelling. I try to keep my brain math-free sometimes. :) If you have not already taken a look, you can learn more about my hobbies by clicking the "Hobbies" link on the left. Thanks for reading!