Student sitting at a desk smiling.

TRIO Student Support Services

Putting Students First in the Pursuit of Excellence

TRIO Student Support Services at HCC is a federally funded program serving 200 students per year. It is designed to serve low income, first generation (neither parent received a bachelor's degree) and disabled students.

The program provides opportunities for academic development, assists students with basic college requirements, and serves to motivate students toward the successful completion of their post-secondary education. The goal of TRIO Student Support Services is to increase the college retention and graduation rates of participants and help students make the transition from one level of higher education to the next.

The TRIO program provides a wide range of individual services and opportunities including:

Ready to Apply? 

Enrolled students who are interested and meet the qualifications for TRIO should complete an online application. If you're still unsure whether you qualify for TRIO, please see our "Who is eligible to participate" question in our FAQs.

Get in Touch

LaTosha Williams, Director TRIO Student Support Services 
Ybor City Campus
Faculty Building, Room 116B
813.253.7629
lwilliams202@hccfl.edu
Doreen Shillingford, Academic Coach
Ybor City Campus
Faculty Building, Room 116
813.259.6092
dshillingford2@hccfl.edu
Tammie Padilla, Senior Staff Assistant 
Ybor City Campus
Faculty Building, Room 116
813.253.7660
tpadilla3@hccfl.edu
Teresa Rowe, Academic Coach
Dale Mabry Campus
Social Science Building, Rooms 242–239
813.253.7444
trowe@hccfl.edu
Jason Overstreet, Math and Science Specialist
Ybor City Campus
Faculty Building, Room 116
813.253.7632
joverstreet@hccfl.edu
Benita Snyder, Academic Coach 
Ybor City Campus
Faculty Building, Room 116 A
813.253.7631
bsnyder@hccfl.edu