Drug and Alcohol Policy
The unlawful manufacture, dispensation, possession or use of controlled substances while at school or on HCC property is strictly prohibited. In addition, a student is prohibited from being under the influence of alcohol or having possession or use of alcoholic beverages while at school or on HCC property.
HCC will provide full cooperation with local law enforcement agencies for alcohol- and drug-related violations. Sanctions may include referral for prosecution, an expulsion of a student and termination of an employee or completion of an appropriate rehabilitation program. A student who is formally charged by a proper prosecuting attorney with drug violations, may, following an administrative hearing, be suspended until his/her case is adjudicated. (HCC Administrative Procedures prohibit alcohol on HCC property or at HCC functions without prior authorization by the college President or appropriate campus President.)
The legal drinking age in Florida is 21. Selling, giving or serving alcohol to persons under 21 is unlawful. In Florida, this law extends to possession of alcohol by anyone under 21. It is unlawful for anyone to misrepresent or misstate his or her age. This includes the manufacture or use of false identification. Use of altered identification for the purpose of procuring alcohol is a felony.
Open Container Law
It is unlawful for any person to consume or to induce, assist or aid another to consume any beverage containing more than 1% alcohol by weight upon any street, sidewalk or in an alley within the City of Tampa. It is unlawful to have an open container of alcohol in a vehicle. (Section 316.1936, F.S.) Florida Law
Under Florida law, driving under the influence of alcoholic beverages or any controlled chemical substance (DUI) is an offense evidenced by the impairment of normal faculties or unlawful blood or breath alcohol level of .08 or higher. For a first conviction, the following sentencing guidelines apply:
- Payment of a fine of $250 to $500 and imprisonment for up to six months for a first conviction.
- If the blood or breath alcohol level is .20 percent or higher, the fine is $500 to $1,000 and imprisonment for up to nine months.
- Monthly probation reporting and mandatory completion of substance abuse course.
- Probation for up to one year which will include a minimum of fifty hours of public service for a community work project.
- Impoundment of the vehicle for ten days unless the owner or family has no other means of transportation.
- Serious bodily injury of another, property damage or death while driving under the influence will result in additional sentences.
Sale or Possession of Illegal Drugs
It is unlawful to be in the possession f illicit drugs and/or to sell or intend to sell illicit drugs.
Selling and Purchasing Controlled Substances Within 1,000 Feet of School
It is unlawful for any person to sell, purchase, manufacture, deliver or possess with the intent to sell a controlled substance in, on or within 1,000 feet of the real property comprising a public or private elementary, middle, secondary school, community or state college or university.